Parker Solar Probe (Part-Three); Where is the Probe and What is its Trajectory

Image showing the past and future orbit of the Parker Solar Probe. Image credit: Parker Solar Probe

Currently, 3:24 AM, EDT, May 13, 2020, the Parker Solar Probe spacecraft is traveling at the speed of 117,576 kph, at a distance of 92,974,452 km from the Sun’s surface. At this distance, the Heat Shield Temperature is 125.3°C.

Image: Parker Solar Probe trajectory
The plots showing the spacecraft’s heliocentric velocity, distances from the Sun and Earth, and round-trip light time to Earth update every hour. The above status is of 3:27 AM (EDT), May 13, 2020. Image credit: Parker Solar Probe

The trajectory of the parker solar probe is designed as until its final touch to the sun it will travel a total of 24 orbits and will have 7 Venus gravity assist flybys.

To date (April 15, 2020), Parker Solar Probe has completed four of its planned 24 orbits around the Sun. Its first Venus Flyby occurred on Oct. 3, 2018, at 4:44 a.m. EDT (08:44 UTC) and the latest venus flyby, second flyby, happened on Dec. 26, 2019. Now the third venus flyby will occur on July 11, 2020.

 RS: This stands for Solar Radius, or the distance from the center of the Sun to its surface, which is about 432,000 miles or 696,000 kilometers. Launch: August 12, 2018 at 3:31 a.m. EDT (7:31 UTC) Venus Flyby: Oct. 3, 2018 at 4:44 a.m. EDT (08:44 UTC) First Perihelion: Nov. 5, 2018 at 10:27 p.m. EST (Nov. 6, 2018 at 03:27 UTC) Image credit: Parker Solar Probe

The total Mission duration will be 6 yrs, 11 months. On its final run, projected on December 24, 2024, Parker Solar Probe will enter into Perihelion #22 event and this will be its first close approach to Sun. During this event, the spacecraft will be at 6.16 million km (3.83 million miles) from the center of the Sun.

For a complete timeline and tracking of the Parker Solar Probe, you can go to Parker Solar probe, Timeline.